Purpose-driven Life


While I’m not a big fan of Rick Warren, when I came back to Christianity, one of the first Christian books I read was “A Purpose Driven Life”.  I’ve said before that the first sentence in the book says it all, if you think about it.  “It’s not all about you.”  In fact none of it is about you.  It is about your service to Humanity.

I have a new great-grandson now, and my grand-daughter’s husband is getting ready to deploy to the West Pacific in a few weeks.  I told her to live each day with a purpose.  I don’t know if she understands what that means, yet.  But it does mean you have to think about what you’re going to do, pray about what you’re going to do, and then plan how you’re going to do it. This takes engagement-not only with your self, but with the world.  It may, or may not, matter what President Obama might be doing today. But it is important.

What I do every night is to examine my day. I try to look at what I did, and what I can do better.  I think about what I need to do, and how I’m going to get it done.  I think about what I want to do, and prioritize.  Then I pray, thanking God for the day, and asking him to help me be a better version of myself the next day.  In the morning, I start with prayer.  I pray the Divine Office of Readings.  I read a passage of Scripture.  I read something spiritual.  Then I get busy.  Every day.  I want to be a better Christian, a better husband, a better employee, better to those around me.

If you’re not moving forward, you are moving backward.  Drive your life with purpose.

 

On another note, I was contacted by someone I look up to a lot, who urged me not to give up yet on the diaconate.  He says that the guidelines they’ve set are too stringent, and thinks they will relax them.  So I’m back to praying for discernment.

What say you???

