The parables of Matthew


I’ve been contemplating, like many, the parables of Matthew the last few weeks.  We’ve heard over, and over, and over…”The kingdom of heaven is like…”  The other day, Wednesday, we heard

“The Kingdom of heaven is like a treasure buried in a field,
which a person finds and hides again,
and out of joy goes and sells all that he has and buys that field.
Again, the Kingdom of heaven is like a merchant
searching for fine pearls.
When he finds a pearl of great price,
he goes and sells all that he has and buys it.”

 

I got to thinking, and wanted to reflect on the following:

What is it that we find to be of great value-something we’ll pay any price for, something we’ll do anything to attain?  Many today go to great lengths to attain their degree.  Some find athletics worthwhile.  I’ve been watching a series called “American Ninja Warrior”, and it amazes me how some people will train in order to get through the obstacle course.  So what is your goal?  And is it really worth all that, given the finite nature of our life on Earth?

Today’s Gospel reading:

Jesus came to his native place and taught the people in their synagogue.
They were astonished and said,
“Where did this man get such wisdom and mighty deeds?
Is he not the carpenter’s son?
Is not his mother named Mary
and his brothers James, Joseph, Simon, and Judas?
Are not his sisters all with us?
Where did this man get all this?”
And they took offense at him.
But Jesus said to them,
“A prophet is not without honor except in his native place
and in his own house.”
And he did not work many mighty deeds there
because of their lack of faith.

presents us with another kind of obstacle…our selves.  We become familiar, without becoming intimate.  We know this boy from the time he was small, and now he’s grown up.  He was a problem child then, and he’s a problem now.  I have an aunt who doesn’t think much of me, simply because as a child, I was very self-absorbed.  She once told my wife, when my wife and I had difficulties, that she should cash in the chips, because I was always “like that”.  I had a parish priest who had no confidence that someone could change-he thought he knew me.  But for the glory of God, it wasn’t me they had to know-it was the power of God, and his will in my life.  Any time I begin to think, about anything, “I don’t see”… I have to wonder what I’m missing.

So, what are you missing? What are your obstacles? What barriers are you putting between yourself, and heaven?

 

I haven’t written a lot in the last month or so.  And I’m going to take a vacation the next week or so.  Maybe I will be ready to write again afterward.  Until then, God bless you.

What say you???

