Pope Francis leaves door open for same-sex unions???


http://www.ncregister.com/daily-news/full-transcript-of-pope-francis-march-5-interview-with-corriere-della-sera/

 

The link is to a transcript of the pope’s interview.  About 2/3 of the way down the page is this Q and A:

In the recent past, it was normal to appeal to the so-called  ‘non-negotiable values’, especially in bio-ethics and sexual morality. You have  not picked up on this formula. The doctrinal and moral principles have not  changed. Does this choice perhaps wish to show a style less preceptive and more  respectful of personal conscience?

I have never understood the expression non-negotiable values. Values are  values, and that is it. I can’t say that, of the fingers of a hand, there is one  less useful than the rest. For which I do not understand in what sense they  there may be negotiable values. I wrote in the exhortation Evangelii Gaudium  what I wanted to say on the theme of life.

 

Many nations have regulated civil unions. Is it a path that the Church  can understand? But up to what point?

Marriage is between a man and a woman. Secular states want to justify civil  unions to regulate different situations of cohabitation, pushed by the demand to  regulate economic aspects between persons, such as ensuring health care. It is  about pacts of cohabitating of various natures, of which I wouldn’t know how to  list the different ways. One needs to see the different cases and evaluate them  in their variety.

Read more: http://www.ncregister.com/daily-news/full-transcript-of-pope-francis-march-5-interview-with-corriere-della-sera/#ixzz2v818PM5q

My only comment/question: How does the quoted point at all to the headline? Civil unions are secular. Matrimony is a sacrament. The quote never says that the Church will accept the validity of civil unions. It only says that civil unions are permissible in some cases.

The point I want to make here: If you want to know what the pope said, read the words of the pope. Do not trust what the media tells you he said. This is a principal you should hold in all aspects of life. A month or so ago, my wife told me something she observed to be true, but when I later saw the same scenario, what was actually happening was not as my wife described it. So, as Ronald Reagan told us “Trust, but verify.”

8 thoughts on “Pope Francis leaves door open for same-sex unions???

  1. My question is why doesn’t he just come out and say it’s a mortal sin and leave it at that? Then there is no doubt.

  2. I don’t see that he hasn’t. I mean all sex outside of the marital entity is a mortal sin, no? Whether it’s hetero or homo, or extra-marital.

  3. I totally agree. My point is be more specific and flat out say these things and not leave any doubt or room for speculation. Blessed John Paul told Bill Clinton end abortion and he told Bush don’t go to war in Iraq. That’s telling it like it is.

  4. I think all any of them needs to say is “Read your moral compass before you act.” But the Church only proposes, never imposes. Imposition is only for those open of heart.

  5. I think there is a group of individuals who are Catholic (and some who are not) wish to portray Pope Francis in a light that propagates their hidden agenda. Clearly, Pope Francis upholds the Church’s traditional position on marriage and he is not attempting to move toward the left. I say: those who are Catholic and do not agree on our traditional view of marriage, should leave our church; for even in Christ’s chosen twelve, there was a devil.

  6. If I understand, if I see an adult who is going to jump off a skyscraper I shouldn’t try to do anything to stop them because they know they shouldn’t do it?

  7. I think people want the Church to tell them it’s ok for them to keep their pet sins…of course, if the Church does that, it wouldn’t be the Church, and if a priest does that, he’s sinning by affirming people in their sins.

    Personally, I see my priest as my spiritual coach. He’s supposed to push me higher than I think I can go of myself. He’s supposed to (as our pastor did this past weekend) tell me that cheating on my taxes is just as bad as taking food from the poor. He’s supposed to make me uncomfortable, and examining myself to get better. If my priest is telling me it’s ok to do a particular sin, then he’s endangering his own soul…

  8. No, you should do all you can to stop them. Salvation happens more than one way…But we’re supposed to love the person, even if we hate the sins we see him committing. Regarding how people interpret what he says, even if he says “Catechism para xXX says “” and quotes it, people will hear what he says after, and misquote him. People love their sins, even those they profess to hate. Getting away from doing a sin requires active participation of the sinner, and people always will hear what they want to hear…

What say you???

