Cars, bishops and barbecues…what do they all have in common?


Well, our 19 year old car finally gave up the spirit this week, so I’m out shopping for a new one.  Other than having to spend money, no biggie there.  Thanks be to God that I can…

 

Sunday, the bishop is going to preside at Mass in my little parish, the Oblates of Mary Immaculate are giving up the management of said parish after 60 years or more of doing so, due to lack of vocations, I think, and the diocese is installing a new pastor.  So I believe he’s going to be announced and introduced to the parish Sunday.  Side note, the National Shrine of St. Francis of Assisi in San Francisco is receiving a new rector, he takes over on Tuesday, and his installation Mass will be in 3 weekends.

So we’ve invited friends from around town to come to meet our new bishop on Sunday, and we’ve just gotten rid of our old barbecue, so we ordered a new one which comes in tomorrow.  The old one was good for grilling, but not so much for some of the stuff I love to do on a barbecue-low and slow cooking-so we donated the old one to a nearby parish.

I hope everyone’s having a splendid summer.  I’m still around for the 4th.

I’m purposely avoiding talking about the Supreme Court right now.  I believe our country is in serious trouble, which will take decades to climb out of, if we’re able to at all…God bless.

What say you???

