Walking across the Grand Canyon on a tight wire…


So, I was intrigued enough to watch the two hour event of the career daredevil Nik Wallenda walking across a tight wire strung across the Grand Canyon.  Let me first say that I’m glad he made it.  I believe lots of people watched to see him fail.  But he didn’t.  I was glad.

The reason I was glad he succeeded is that I believe that his failure would be considered a suicide.  Is that too harsh?  He said, in the commercials leading up to it “I could die.”  So he knew the risk and thought it was acceptible.  I’m just glad he didn’t.  But using my own logic, if someone has a dangerous job, such as the men of “The Deadliest Catch” (which I am a big fan of), and they die doing their job (or a fire fighter or a police officer), is it suicide, if they die? I think they’re different.  There’s a difference in acceptance of risk for the obtainment of a paycheck and doing a stunt that’s arguably more dangerous than your normal salaried position, even if you’re a tight-rope walker in the circus.

I noticed, in the run-up to the wire-walk, that the family doesn’t live very lavishly.  In fact, my grandmother lived in the same city, and lived in a similar home on her retirement.  So I guess I can discount the money aspect, so then there’s the fame.  But what good is fame if you’re dead?

I guess my biggest beef is that he was calling on God to calm the winds, to actually deal with nature to make his walk easier, and I don’t believe God works that way.  God gives you the ability-the talent.  God expects you to multiply your talent.  God will help you along the way, maybe even holding the wind back.  But it’s God’s action.  It sounded like Nik was directing God the way Mickey directed the brooms in the Sorcerer’s Aprrentice.  The prosperity gospel is a false one, at least it shows a grave misunderstanding of how God works.

I quit smoking several years ago, and knowing I had had problems being successful at it several times, I asked for God’s help.  I didn’t ask for particulars, I just asked for God’s intercession, and now I don’t question what He did.  I’ll just say he helped me overcome my urges.  I didn’t tell him what to do, because he already knows.

So, while I applaud Nik Wallenda’s accomplishment, and his faith, I just wasn’t impressed by his use of his piety.

2 thoughts on “Walking across the Grand Canyon on a tight wire…

  1. I’ve actually seen him on some subsequent interviews, and he seems pretty grounded. To be honest, I have problems discussing religion topics with my mother, it’s very different than Catholicism.

    She even told me that she wasn’t sure my baptism as a baby wasn’t valid because I wasn’t able to make my own choice. I told her I had no doubt in my mind that it was, but I had no proof when I came into the Church, so they conditionally baptised me.

    Thanks for reading.

What say you???

