The Year of Faith


October 11 begins the Year of Faith, proclaimed by Pope Benedict to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the start of Vatican II.

I know some people think there’s nothing to celebrate, but I would venture that many have not read the product of Vatican II, the 13 documents and their addendums.  I’ve read most of them, but during this year, I will be re-reading them.

A lot of people may know, but do not realize, that the 1994 Catechism of the Catholic Church is a product of the Second Vatican Council.  Because this is the Year of Faith, I am recommending that we study our faith over the coming year by reading the CCC, start to finish.  It’s really not very hard.  You can do it 5 paragraphs at a time each day.

Also, as part of the Year of Faith, since so much of the New Testament is quoted or referred to by the Catechism, I’m planning to read the NT in cycle from beginning to end, continuously during this Holy Year.

I’m no saying this to toot my own horn, but to spur your brain to come up with your own celebration of this year.  Happy praying!

God Bless.

What say you???

