Too Much Information


God calls us to live in the world, to love the world, but to not be of the world.

Lately, I’ve found there to be too much information out there! With the news lately of politicians and athletes who don’t know how to control themselves sexually, to sports, to games, to work, sometimes I just want to turn it all off and get away. I’m not going to get into all the junk that’s out there, but we really have to know how to control what gets into our brain.

I wasn’t such a great guy a few years ago, and all the crud in the news lately has brought it back flooding into my wife’s brain, and boy! talk about erosion!  The bad memories creep in, the Devil spots the opening, and like the Boston Bruins exploiting Roberto Luongo last night, bam!  I really don’t like to toot my own horn, but after watching Mass on EWTN this morning, I had to just shut off the TV, turn out the lights, and hold my wife, and look into her eyes and paint the picture of reality over the past few years, how my radical conversion has made our life so much better.  I heard a radio show last week on a rare occasion when I didn’t have a Catholic one available, where Dave Ramsey, the financial guru, told the world that all those people inside your 55″ flat panel 3-d television are…gasp…just reading to you.  They don’t make the news, they tell you the news.  They decide what news is fit to tell and what’s not.

So, my fellow readers, please keep this in mind: 

Watch your thoughts, for they become words.
Watch your words, for they become actions.
Watch your actions, for they become habits.
Watch your habits, for they become character.
Watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.

And remember what forms your thoughts…in this day and age, much of it comes from media-the internet, television, radio, movies, music, and so on.  Be careful out there.  And don’t be afraid to just turn it off.

What say you???

