Bumpersticker theology


I’ve been taking some bumper stickers to heart lately, well, stomping on them mentally, really. The plethora of Obama stickers two years after the election is one reason.

While we might think some bumper sticker sayings are fun, they’re also usually wrong. Two immediately come to mind:

God is my Co-Pilot” -Wrong, this means that God serves you. God is really my pilot. He’s in control.

Marriage is 50/50” -Again, wrong. Marriages that are 50/50 have a great chance of ending in divorce. Marriage, my friends, is 100/100. You’re either all-in, or you’re not.

As I see them, I will try to update this, and will make it a sticky to remind me.  If you see any that sound good, but aren’t, please comment.

July 7-“Experience Life At No Cost! Call 1-800-MEET-God” Experiencing real Life means it costs you everything.
“Going to church does not make you a Christian anymore than going to McDonalds makes you a hamburger. Ever hear of planting a seed? We take our babies to Mass for a reason. We remember how long it took St. Monica to bring her son Augustine to Catholicism. I understand, with the way it is in some parking lots after Mass, this might sound true, and I once saw a lady drive out of the parking lot after mass flip off someone she just cut off, every little bit helps.

What say you???

