The Jews really knew what Jesus was talking about in John 6:60-69…


In the previous Sunday’s gospel, the 5th in a 6 week study of the Bread of Life discourse, the 20th Sunday in Ordinary Time, Jesus told us

“Amen, amen, I say to you,
unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood,
you do not have life within you.
Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood
has eternal life,
and I will raise him on the last day.
For my flesh is true food,
and my blood is true drink.
Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood
remains in me and I in him.
Just as the living Father sent me
and I have life because of the Father,
so also the one who feeds on me
will have life because of me.
This is the bread that came down from heaven.
Unlike your ancestors who ate and still died,
whoever eats this bread will live forever.”

Yesterday, the 21st Sunday in Ordinary Time, we are told that many walked away and went back to their previous lives.  Why would some of his disciples leave him, if he were speaking merely figuratively?  In fact, he said it twice, and they questioned him.  In answer to their questions, Jesus affirmed what he had just said.  “Unless you eat my flesh and drink my blood…”  This passage is the difference between Catholics and Protestants.  Jesus instituted the sacrament of the Eucharist at the Last Supper, which clearly references the Bread of Life discourse.  He says “This IS my body.” (the bread), then “This IS my blood.” (the wine).

We enact this celebration every day at Mass.  Jesus’ real presence IS in the bread and wine, He, through the priest, becomes the bread and becomes the wine, and they are no longer bread and wine, but the Body and Blood of Our Lord, poured out for us.

And Jesus asks us ‘Are you going to leave me too?’

3 thoughts on “The Jews really knew what Jesus was talking about in John 6:60-69…

  1. You do not have to post this if you do not want. But have you ever noticed it is always me and you???? I think it is the Protestant in us:>)

    …edited at writers request…

    God Bless Sandy

  2. I’m just going to post something so that we now have the awkward ‘third wheel” who just won’t go away. 😛

    Or perhaps, more charitably, we could reflect the Trinitarian Doctrine….

What say you???

