Yoked


Dec 10th’s gospel reading about “Come to me all you weary and heavily laden, and I will give you rest.” really touches me especially at this time of year.

All the advertising is about buy this and buy that to make someone (or yourself) happy. The car commercial where the guy is muttering about the great toys he got as a kid, and now as an adult, all he got was a sweater-vest, so he went out and bought a shiny new car. The video games, the latest LCD TV. Ad nauseaum.
I used to be like that. I got so selfish and self-centered that I thought it was OK to watch some of the tripe on TV and on the internet, and eventually separated myself from my family.Well, I got slapped upside the head, as we all do sometimes, and as we all need sometimes.
But I was shown Christ’s love, his better way. He opened his arms to us and promised that, if we accept his yoke, he will help us bear it. I still have a long way to go, but recently, I finally gave up my attachment to cigarettes (after 40 years of smoking) just by trusting in Jesus and letting him help me through the initial period. There are still moments when I crave, or give in, but they are so few and far between. I just have to know that when I smoke, I’m not trusting Him enough.
I go through daily purification since becoming Catholic almost 3 years ago, and look for some way, every day, to give up those sinful attachments, one a day, every day.

What say you???

